Strangeloop Networks

For future Velocity Online Conference sponsorship opportunities, please contact Yvonne Romaine at yromaine@oreilly.com

Tuesday, December 8th

US-Pacific Standard Time:
9:00am - 12:40pm

US-Eastern Standard Time:
12:00pm - 3:40pm

Cost: $149

Location: Online,
from the comfort of your desk.

Price includes access to the recorded sessions after the live event.

The Velocity Online Conference provides an ongoing forum for exploring the latest issues, without the expense or inconvenience of travel. It's our way of bringing Velocity to your desktop and keeping the conversation alive throughout the year.

In an online conference, participants log on and attend sessions, enter into discussions with other participants and presenters using the live text chat, and are able to pose questions and interact with people from all over the world. It has a similar structure to a physical conference, except that you hear the speakers discuss topics and watch their slide presentations via your computer from the convenience of your office or home. You'll take breaks between sessions and enjoy lively chat conversations with your fellow attendees.

O'Reilly Velocity Online Conference has Concluded

Agenda/Schedule | Discounts | Program Committee

Web performance and operations is an emerging discipline which requires incredible breadth, focusing less on specific technologies and more on how the entire system works together. While people often specialize in particular components, great engineers understand web performance and operations in relation to the whole. The best are able to fly to the 50,000 foot view and see the entire system in motion and then zoom in to microscopic levels and examine the tiny movements of an individual part. The O'Reilly Velocity Online Conference takes a look at some of the newest developments in web performance and operations, including:

The O'Reilly Velocity Online Conference is the meeting ground where emerging trends are examined, predictions are made, and business models vetted. In this half-day online conference, you'll have the opportunity to hear from experts, share your ideas, ask questions, and join in a conversation with panelists and other participants, all looking to build a solid and profitable future for web operations and performance technologies - from the comfort of your laptop or desktop computer.

Agenda/Schedule

Introduction

US-PST: 8:55am - 9:05am
US-EST: 11:55am - 12:05pm

Performance Impact: How Web Speed Affects Online Business KPIs + Q&A

US-PST: 9:05am - 9:35am
US-EST: 12:05pm - 12:35pm

Today's businesses rely on high-performing Web applications for commerce, collaboration and communication. How do poorly performing Web applications impact the bottom line of these businesses? How do incremental improvements in Web performance affect revenues? In this session Hooman Beheshti will look at the impact of Web performance on the key performance indicators that drive various kinds of Web businesses. Using empirical data gathered from real websites, Hooman will demonstrate the link between web performance and the bottom line.

Speaker: Hooman Beheshti

Introduction to SPDY + Q&A

US-PST: 9:35am - 9:50am
US-EST: 12:35pm - 12:50pm

Speaker: Mike Belshe

Faster Load Times Through Deferred JavaScript Evaluation + Q&A

US-PST: 9:50am - 10:15am
US-EST: 12:50pm - 1:15pm

JavaScript makes a web app great, but can it really hurt load times, especially on mobile platforms. Charles will show you how a new technique pioneered by the mobile Gmail team and now built in to the SproutCore build tools can automatically cut your JavaScript load time dramatically. Finally you can have your JavaScript and fast load times too.

Speaker: Charles Jolley

Making Rails Even Faster by Default + Q&A

US-PST: 10:15am - 10:30am
US-EST: 1:15pm - 1:30pm

For a few years now, Ruby on Rails has focused relentlessly on client-side performance. While performance zealots have turned their attention on squeezing out a few more milliseconds on the sever-side, the Rails core team took the advice of the YSlow team seriously very early, building defaults into the framework to increase the default performance of Rails web sites, as well as making it easy to opt-into higher performing techniques very late without requiring a change in site architecture.

Rails 3 adds more high-performance features, and makes Rails even faster out of the box. In this talk, Yehuda will cover the ways that Rails already builds in fast by default, and briefly discuss how Rails will continue to lead the "fast by default" field in the upcoming releases.

Speaker: Yehuda Katz

Break

US-PST: 10:30am - 10:45am
US-EST: 1:30pm - 1:45pm

Load Balancing & Reverse Proxies with Varnish & More + Q&A

US-PST: 10:45am - 11:15am
US-EST: 1:45pm - 2:15pm

Varnish is a modern application level reverse proxy for web sites & services written with performance in mind. Varnish incorporates some advanced features to stretch the kernel as far as possible. Wikia relies heavily on varnish to serve a peak traffic of close to a gigabit/sec out of 3 different datacenters. Each one with two Varnishes working as a pair serving thousands of requests a second.

Speaker: Artur Bergman

Browserscope: Profiling the Way to a Better Browser + Q&A

US-PST: 11:15am - 11:30am
US-EST: 2:15pm - 2:30pm

Browserscope is tackling the tool at the front of the stack—the browser itself—to give end users a faster, richer, and more secure web experience. Testing done in the lab is always suspect, and oftentimes not reproducible, so Browserscope puts its tests and its results out in the wild for crowd-sourcing. This talk will present some of the trending analysis and findings from Browserscope‚Äôs first few months of data collection as well as some case study information about the new Security test suite.

Speaker: Lindsey Simon

CouchDB from 10,000 ft + Q&A

US-PST: 11:30am - 12:00pm
US-EST: 2:30pm - 3:00pm

Chris will talk about CouchDB's offline replication, their robust storage system, using incremental Map Reduce for consistent live access to schemaless data, portable applications, and a short list of current deployments.

Speaker: J Chris Anderson

Break

US-PST: 12:00pm - 12:15pm
US-EST: 3:00pm - 3:15pm

Operations Roundtable

US-PST: 12:15pm - 12:40pm
US-EST: 3:15pm - 3:40pm

Join a panel of your favorite Velocity Web Ops ninjas. Ask them any question you want, and they will answer live.

Moderator: Jesse Robbins
Speakers: Artur Bergman, Adam Jacob, John Allspaw, Mandi Walls

Program subject to refinement.

Discounts

All Velocity Conference alumni receive a 50% discount to the Velocity Online Conference, Fall 2009. If you attended a past Velocity Conference but have not yet received your email invitation to the Velocity Online Conference with the discount code, please send a message to conf-online@oreilly.com.

Note: All Velocity Online Conference participants will receive a 25% discount to the next Velocity Conference, happening June 22-24, 2010 in Santa Clara, CA.

Velocity Online Program Committee

Program Chairs

Steve SoudersSteve Souders works at Google on web performance and open source initiatives. His books High Performance Web Sites and Even Faster Web Sites explain his best practices for performance along with the research and real-world results behind them. Steve is the creator of YSlow, Cuzillion, and SpriteMe. He is co-chair of Velocity and co-founder of the Firebug Working Group. He taught CS193H High Performance Web Sites at Stanford, and frequently speaks at conferences including OSCON, The Ajax Experience, SXSW, and Web 2.0 Expo.

Jesse RobbinsJesse Robbins (@jesserobbins) is CEO of Opscode (makers of Chef) and a recognized expert in Infrastructure, Web Operations, and Emergency Management. He serves as co-chair of the Velocity Web Performance & Operations Conference and contributes to the O'Reilly Radar. Prior to co-founding Opscode, he worked at Amazon.com with a title of "Master of Disaster" where he was responsible for Website Availability for every property bearing the Amazon brand. Jesse is a volunteer Firefighter/EMT and Emergency Manager, and led a task force deployed in Operation Hurricane Katrina. His experiences in the fire service profoundly influence his efforts in technology, and he strives to distill his knowledge from these two worlds and apply it in service of both.

Questions? Please send an email to conf-online@oreilly.com